1960s Slang

Learn how to express yourself through 1960s slang. If it was cooler than cool, it was “boss”, if it was wonderful, it was “outta sight” and if it was fantastic it was “righteous”.

  • A gas – having a fun time
  • All show and no go – looks good superficially
  • Ape – crazy or mad
  • Bad –  awesome
  • Badass – trouble maker
  • Bag – steal
  • Ball – to have sexual intercourse
  • Beat feat – leave quickly
  • Bench racing – sitting around and talking about the speed of their cars
  • Blast – good time
  • Blitzed – drunk
  • Blown – drunk
  • Bogart – to keep for yourself
  • Bone yard – a place to put junk or wrecked cars
  • Boob tube – television
  • Boogie board – a short surfboard
  • Bookin’ – going fast in a car
  • Boss – fantastic
  • Brew – beer
  • Brody – skid half a circle in a car with the brakes locked
  • Brody Knob – knob that attaches to a steering wheel to facilitate turning
  • Bug – to bother
  • Bug out – to leave
  • What a bummer – what a bad thing or unpleasant experience
  • Burn rubber – squeal tires and leave rubber on the road
  • Cat – guy
  • Catch some rays – get out in the sun
  • Cherry – mint condition
  • Chickabiddy – because I told you so
  • Chicken/To play chicken – two cars driving towards each other
  • Chinese firedrill – when four people get out of a car at a right light and exchange places in the car
  • Chop – to cut someone down verbally
  • Chrome Dome – bald man
  • Cool head – nice guy
  • Cooties – bugs
  • Crash – sleep
  • Cut out – leave the area quickly
  • Decked out – dressed up
  • Deuce – putting two fingers up in a peace symbol
  • Dibs – ownership
  • Dig – understand
  • Don’t flip your wig – don’t be upset
  • Don’t have a cow – don’t be upset
  • Don’t sweat it – don’t be upset
  • Dove – a peace lover
  • Downer – an unpleasant experience
  • Drag – someone or something that is boring
  • Dropout – refuse to conform with society
  • Fab – fabulous
  • Fab Four – The Beatles
  • Far out – awesome
  • Fink – tattletale
  • Five finger discount – stolen
  • Flake – useless person
  • Flake off – leave
  • Flee the scene – leave
  • Flip flops – thongs
  • Flower child – a hippie or other member of the counterculture
  • Flower power – the impact of the hippy counterculture
  • Fox – good looking woman
  • Freak out – get excited and lose control
  • Freedom riders – civil rights protesters
  • Free love – casual sex
  • Generation gap – the differences in beliefs between youth and parents
  • Gimme some skin – to ask someone to slap or shake your hand in agreement
  • Go ape – lose all control over emotions
  • Gone – under the influence of drugs
  • Gnarly – difficult or big
  • Groovy – outstanding or nice
  • Groady – dirty
  • Grungy – looking shabby or dirty
  • Glasspacked – has mufflers lined with fiberglass to muffle the sound
  • Hacked – made someone mad
  • Hairy – difficult or out of control
  • Hang loose – take it very easy
  • Hang tough – to stick with something difficult
  • Hawk – a supporter of war
  • Heat – police
  • Heavy – a controversial or powerful subject
  • Hep – in full agreement
  • Hip – very cool
  • Hodad – a person who does not surf
  • Hog – to take over so that someone else cannot use
  • Hot dog – show-off
  • Hunk – good looking guy
  • In the groove – a person who is part of the in-crowd
  • Jam – group of people play music together
  • Jazzed – excited
  • Jelly Roll – heroin
  • Jive turkey- one who speaks as though they know what they’re talking about…though they do not. b. a bullshitter.
  • Kicks – something done for pleasure
  • Kings X – safe
  • Kiss off – dismiss
  • Kiss up – someone who will do anything to gain favor by another person
  • Knocked up – pregnant
  • Laid back – relaxed
  • Lay it on me – tell me
  • Lay rubber – stop fast and leave wheel marks on the road
  • Make out – kissing
  • Midnight auto supply – stolen auto parts
  • Mirror warmer – woman who spends a lot of time looking in the mirror
  • Mod – modern or in fashion
  • Moon – to drop your pants
  • Mop-top – someone with a Beatle-style haircut
  • Neato – awesome
  • Nifty – stylish or very good
  • No sweat! – No problem
  • Now – of the current fashion or style
  • Old Lady – mother
  • Old Man – father
  • On the make – looking for a date
  • Outta sight – awesome
  • Pad – where you sleep or live
  • Padiddle – car with only one working headlight
  • Panty waist – a boy who does not have a tough personality
  • Passion pit – drive-in movie
  • Peel out – accelerate quickly, leaving rubber on the road
  • Peggers – jeans with tight calfs and ankles
  • PG – pregnant
  • Pig – police officer
  • Pig out – overeat
  • Port holer – a sailor on a ship
  • Pound – to beat someone up
  • Race for pinks – race cars when the winner keeps the loser’s car
  • Rap – to talk
  • Rat fink – someone who tells on someone else
  • Rays – sunshine
  • Right on – OK, a term of agreement
  • Rip off – steal
  • Scarf – eat fast
  • Score – get sex from a girl
  • Scratch – money
  • Shades – sunglasses
  • Shake it, don’t break it! – told to someone who wiggles
  • Shot down – rejected
  • Shotgun – passenger seat
  • Skag or Skank – an ugly girl
  • Skirt – a girl
  • Skuzz – disgusting person
  • Skuzz bucket – ugly place or thing
  • Slug bug – Volkswagon beetle
  • It’s snowing down south – woman’s slip is showing
  • Sock it to me – Let me have it
  • Solid – I understand
  • Souped up – lots of extra equipment
  • Split – to leave
  • Sponge – live off of someone else’s money or belongings
  • Square – someone who is not cool
  • Stoked – likes someone or something a lot
  • Stoned – high on pot
  • Stuck up – conceited
  • Submarine races – excuse given for parking next to the water to make out
  • Sweat hog – fat girl or boy
  • Sweat parties – sex parties
  • Tennies – tennis shoes
  • The Man – any authority figure who maintained the corporate, legal and political status quo
  • Threads – clothes
  • Ticked off – angry
  • Tight – very friendly
  • Toke – a puff from a marijuana cigarette
  • Tooling – driving around
  • Tough – great looking
  • Tuff – cool or very enjoyable
  • Tune out – ignore
  • Turn off – to respulse someone
  • Truckin’ – moving quickly
  • Twice Pipes – two muffler tail pipes
  • Twitchin’ – great or awesome
  • Unglued – upset
  • Unreal – so outstanding that it was difficult to believe
  • Uptight – tense and unable to enjoy life
  • Way out – beyond explanation
  • Wedgies – When someone pulls up someone else’s underwear from the back, causing the underwear to go into the crack
  • What’s your bag, man? – what are you into? what is your problem?
  • Wipe out – to fail in a big way or to fall off the surfboard
  • Woodie – an old, wood-sided station wagon that was popular with the California surfing population
  • Zilch – zero
  • Zit – pimple

Copyright of yourdictionary.com

A 1960s lady who talked her own language, some of Holly Golightly(Breakfast at Tiffany’s) greatest quotes for you to use. 

“It should take you exactly four seconds to cross from here to that door. I’ll give you two.

“But I am mad about José. I honestly think I’d give up smoking if he asked me.”

Quel night.”

“I’ll tell you one thing, Fred, darling… I’d marry you for your money in a minute. Would you marry me for my money? “…In a minute.” (Awkward pause.) “I guess it’s pretty lucky neither of us is rich, huh?” (Second, and far longer awkward pause.) “…Yeah.”

“You know those days when you get the mean reds?”,

“The mean reds, you mean like the blues?”

“No. The blues are because you’re getting fat and maybe it’s been raining too long; you’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling? …Well, when I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump in a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away. The quietness and the proud look of it. Nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that’d make me feel like Tiffany’s, then — then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name!”

“I’ll never get used to anything. Anybody that does, they might as well be dead.”

“Anyone who ever gave you confidence, you owe them a lot.”

“How do I look?” “…Very good. I must say, I’m amazed.”

“…You know what’s gonna happen to you? I am gonna march you over to the zoo and feed you to the yak.”

“It’s useful being top banana in the shock department.”

“I’m like cat here, a no-name slob. We belong to nobody, and nobody belongs to us. We don’t even belong to each other.”

“Promise me one thing: don’t take me home until I’m drunk — very drunk indeed

“…Do you think she’s talented, deeply and importantly talented?”

“…No. Amusingly and superficially talented, yes. But deeply and importantly, no.”

(Very drunk.) “You disAPPROVE of me, and I do not accept drinks from gentlemen who DISapprove of me.”

“I don’t want to own anything until I find a place where me and things go together. I’m not sure where that is but I know what it is like. It’s like Tiffany’s.”

“You can always tell what kind of a person a man thinks you are by the earrings he gives you. I must say — the mind reels.”

“Let me make one thing clear. I am not now — nor have I ever been — named ‘Fred.’”

“Didn’t I tell you that this was a wonderful place?”

“She’s a phony. But she’s a real phony. You know why? Because she honestly believes all this phony junk that she believes.”

“Thursday? Oh no, it can’t be!  It’s too gruesome.”

“…I mean, I owe her something — not that I owe her anything if you really want to get right down to it, but… She’s a crazy. She’s a phony. But she’s a real phony. Know what I mean, kid?”

“Hand me my purse, will you, darling? A girl can’t read that sort of thing… with… without her lipstick.”

“All right — so he’s not a regular rat, or even a super rat. He’s just a scared little mouse. But — oh, golly, gee, damn!”

“Simply do not ask me what this is all about.” (Waves hand wildly.) “Parce que je ne sais pas, mes chers.

“There are certain shades of limelight that can wreck a girl’s complexion.”

“He’s all right — I suppose. If you like dark, handsome, rich-looking men with passionate natures and too many teeth.”

“I am a very stylish girl.”

“I suppose you think I’m very brazen or très fou or something.”

“I don’t think you’re any fou-er than anyone else.”

“No matter where you run, you just end up running into yourself.”

Leave a Reply

